Where I Would Publish

If I were to publish anything I wrote or will write, it would be my arguments about standardized testing in schools, as this is a very important topic to me and a very relevant issue for today’s education system. I would love to publish about Sarah and her experiences in this area. And although there are many different types of education publications, there is one that I follow closely on Twitter that would be a good avenue for publishing my writing: Huffington Post Education.

HuffPost Education is my favorite because the articles are informative and interesting, while also being in a less formal, more conversational tone.  And these are the kinds of articles I like to read.  HuffPost also has a blog that features posts that are just as well-written as the main articles on the website, but are much more opinion-based.  Unfortunately, the site doesn’t have any submission guidelines, as they don’t accept submissions from public sources.  However, they do take new tips or information, along with idea suggestions for their blog posts on the website.

So disregarding the the inability to actually submit an article to HuffPost, my writing style would definitely fit well with the informal type of articles they post. Considering the opinionated nature of my posts, the Education blog would be the best section for my writing.  Although my posts are based on facts, they are also full of opinions and contain a clear bias, which usually doesn’t work as well in traditional news articles.  But for blogs, it’s fine. And I wouldn’t mind seeing my opinion right up there on HuffPost’s blog. Especially when it concerns Sarah and standardized testing.

One thought on “Where I Would Publish

  1. AmateurYogi

    Very good ideas. I would love to see your writings about Sarah in a blog format such as the HuffPost. I think the opinion section is a great place, too, because of your original style of writing and the fact that you have a character such as Sarah.
    As far as formatting of your post, I think your ideas are great, but give your writing a read after you write it out. Read it out loud just to see how it sounds. I think some of your sentences can be combined.
    For example:
    “If I were to publish anything I wrote or will write, it would be my arguments about standardized testing in schools, as this is a very important topic to me and a very relevant issue for today’s education system. I would love to publish about Sarah and her experiences in this area. And although there are many different types of education publications, there is one that I follow closely on Twitter that would be a good avenue for publishing my writing: Huffington Post Education.”
    Could become:
    “Standardized testing in schools is both a very important topic to me and a relevant issue for today’s education system. I would love to publish about Sarah and her experiences in this area and the best avenue for this would be the Huffington Post Education.”

    I think this would get you closer to the point, and lead you nicely into background about the Huffington Post Education.

    Great job. I think you definitely have a great shot at getting published.

    Reply

Tell me your thoughts

